Featured Article

Special Meeting of the Members of the VMI Alumni Association Results

aerial shot of VMI post with House Mountain in the background

On Saturday, June 11, 2022, a Special Meeting of the Members of the VMI Alumni Association was held in Cameron Hall to elect a total of 11 directors at large and regional directors for terms ranging from one year to three years. The special meeting was announced via email, publication in the local paper, and posted on the VMI Alumni Agencies website May 11, 2022. Leading up to the meeting, alumni were able to submit nominations for open director at large positions. These names were then vetted by the Nominating Committee, which generated the nominations for the election.

The special meeting was attended by 165 alumni in good standing. It began at 10 a.m. with a welcome from Sam Stocks ’90, VMI Alumni Association Board of Directors president. Stocks outlined the voting process and took several questions from the attendees. He referred those in attendance to the Alumni Association legal team, present in Cameron Hall, if they wished to make objections to the meeting for inclusion in the minutes. Then, the vote was held. All ballots were numbered, and alumni placed their ballots into ballot boxes before exiting the building.

The regional directors slate was approved by a majority vote of members, and the directors at large were elected either by a plurality or majority vote of the members.

The final results are as follows:

Regional Directors

Slate Approved

Dennis V. Maguire ’80 for Region III (Northeast), term ending June 30, 2024
Patrick J. “Pat” Griffin ’80 for Region VIII (Southwest VA/Shenandoah Valley), term ending June 30, 2025
James E. “Jim” Henry ’68 for Region XIII (Hampton Roads), term ending June 30, 2025
Anthony J. “Jamie” MacDonald ’83 for Region XIV (Metro DC), term ending June 30, 2025
William C. Collier ’06 for Region XIV (Metro DC), term ending June 30, 2025

Directors at Large

Term Ending June 30, 2025

Guy F. Conte ’75
James G. “Jim” Joustra ’76
Grant T. Harris ’06
Charles H. “Chuck” Story ’91
William R. Shannon ’10 (Young Alumnus)

Term Ending June 30, 2023

Abigail L. Dawson ’14 (Young Alumna)

Congratulations to those who were elected to serve on the VMI Alumni Association Board of Directors. Thank you to all alumni who participated in the special meeting.