Athletics

SoCon Publishes Revised Football Schedule

The revised SoCon football schedule, published in early November, brings three changes for VMI fans. The new schedule is an alteration to the schedule published in October.—Photo courtesy VMI Keydets.

The Southern Conference recently altered its 2021 spring football schedule. The revised schedule released Nov. 2 will bring three changes to the VMI schedule that had been previously announced in October.

The Keydets begin the SoCon slate on the road at Chattanooga Feb. 20 before their home opener against Furman Feb. 27 (previously set to host East Tennessee State University). Following a road trip to Western Carolina a week later, VMI will then host Mercer March 13 at Foster Stadium.

VMI is still on schedule to face Samford in Birmingham, Alabama, March 20 and will now compete on the road for its March 27 game at Wofford in Spartanburg, South Carolina.

The Keydets will play host to ETSU Saturday, April 3.

Following a bye April 10, the regular season will end eventfully April 17 with a rivalry matchup against The Citadel in the Military Classic of the South.

Ticket information for VMI’s four home games will be announced at a later date.

Full broadcast schedules will be announced later, but all nine schools’ home games will air on either ESPN3 or ESPN+ if not selected for a national or regional broadcast.

VMI Spring 2021 Football Schedule
*Bold denotes home games

Saturday, Feb. 20 – at Chattanooga
Saturday, Feb. 27 – FURMAN
Saturday, March 6 – at Western Carolina
Saturday, March 13 – MERCER
Saturday, March 20 – at Samford
Saturday, March 27 – at Wofford
Saturday, April 3 – ETSU
Saturday, April 10 – bye
Saturday, April 17 – THE CITADEL
Saturday, April 24 – FCS Playoffs

NOTE: Please visit vmikeydets.com for the most up-to-date schedule and game information.