New Coaching Staff Highlights Spring Football

Football players gathering on Alumni Memorial Field.

VMI football welcomes seven new coaches for the 2022-23 season, and three returning coaches will have new responsibilities.—Photo courtesy VMI Keydets.

New faces in different places were the look of the 2022 VMI football coaching staff when spring practice kicked off March 24 at Fiorini Field.

All but two of the 12 position coaching assignments on the staff will have a name different from the 2021 fall season.

Scott Wachenheim, head football coach, welcomes seven new coaches for his eighth season on post, and three returning assistants will have significant new responsibilities in 2022.

The new arrivals are Nick Reveiz (defensive coordinator/linebackers), J.B. Lageman (defensive line), Bilal Marshall (wide receivers), Dino Waites (safeties), Greg Wood (specialists), Dylan Almond (defensive assistant), and Ben Housewright (offensive assistant).

Returning coaches moving to different assignments in 2022 are Pat Ashford (offensive coordinator from wide receivers), Bill Parker (cornerbacks from running backs), and Kendrick Scott (running backs from cornerbacks). Jack Abercrombie, offensive line coach, has added run game coordinator to his responsibilities, and Chris Moore, tight ends coach, will continue to coordinate specialist teams.

“The VMI football family has had the opportunity to bring several new coaching staff members to post. The positive energy and enthusiasm these coaches have brought [are] contagious,” said Wachenheim. “Our recent successes have also afforded us the opportunity to promote some current staff members to new positions. I am looking forward to seeing our team come together this spring as we implement the new ideas these men bring to our program.”

For more about the coaching changes, click here.

2022 VMI Football Coaching Staff
Scott Wachenheim: head coach
Billy Parker: assistant head coach/recruiting coordinator/CB
Nick Reveiz: defensive coordinator/LB
Patrick Ashford: offensive coordinator/QB
Chris Moore: specialist team coordinator/TE
Jack Abercrombie: offensive line/run game coordinator
Greg Wood: specialists/video coordinator
Kendrick Scott: running backs coach
Bilal Marshall: wide receivers coach
J.B. Lageman: defensive line coach
Dino Waites: safeties coach
Dylan Almond: defensive assistant
Ben Housewright: offensive assistant

Editor’s Note: This article originally appeared at