Ramsey ’20 Named VaSID First Team All-State

Football players on field during a game.

Alex Ramsey ’20, who broke several VMI records in his 2019 campaign, was named VaSID First Team All-State. Photo by Chuck Steenburgh ’86.

Alex Ramsey ’20, VMI red-shirt junior running back, continued to add to his impressive collection of post-season awards when he was named to the 2019 Virginia Sports Information Directors University Division All-State Football Team Jan. 31, 2020. Ramsey earned a spot on first-team while Bryce Perkins, Virginia quarterback, and Ron’Dell Carter, James Madison defensive end, were voted the Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year, respectively.

Ramsey broke several VMI records in his 2019 campaign. He finished with 1,326 net rushing yards for the season, marking the first time a Keydet running back had gone for more than 1,000 yards since Tim Maypray ’10 accomplished the feat in 2008. His 22 rushing touchdowns for the season is a new school record for a single season, smashing the former record of 17 held by Thomas Haskins ’97 in 1995.

A First Team All-Southern Conference honoree, Ramsey had six games rushing for more than 100 yards, including four weeks in a row and six out of seven weeks in the middle portion of the schedule. He earned a new school record six touchdowns against Samford on October 12 and was subsequently named the national STATS FCS Offensive Player of the Week. Named to the Walter Payton Watch List near the end of the season recognizing the top offensive player in all of FCS football, the Salem, Virginia, native was named an All-American by four separate publications: Hero Sports (Third Team), Associated Press (Second Team), STATS (Second Team) and the American Football Coaches Association (Second Team).

Both Curt Cignetti, JMU head coach, and Bronco Mendenhall, Virginia head coach, were tabbed Coach of the Year. Kevin Johnson, Norfolk State running back, was recognized as Offensive Rookie of the Year, and Tristan Wheeler, Richmond linebacker, took home Defensive Rookie of the Year honors.

Editor’s Note: The article was first published at